Google Shared Drives
Important: In June 2019, Team Drives was renamed to Shared drives in the web interface, mobile app and Google Drive File Stream. Any desktop shortcuts, scripts, etc. that link to content in these drives will need to be updated. More information...
Google Shared drives (formerly Team Drive) is a G Suite feature included with all Google@SEAS accounts. Files are owned by the shared drive, not individual users, providing stability as your team's membership changes and evolves.
Shared drives have slightly different behavior and limitations than individually owned files and folders in Google Drive. Before using shared drives, please review Google's Get started with shared drives article. For best results, create a shared drive for each project, where it's appropriate for all of the team members to have access to all of the files.
To begin using shared drives, visit Google Drive and log in with your Google@SEAS account.
Be sure to log in using your full SEAS account address (email@example.com).
All use of Google@SEAS, including shared drives, must conform to the Penn Policy on Acceptable Use of Electronic Resources.
How do I move files to a Google shared drive?
You must be the owner of any files that you move from your Google@SEAS My Drive to a shared drive. Once the files are moved, ownership is transferred to the shared drive.
To move Google Drive files you don't own to a shared drive, consider one of the following options:
- Ask the owner of the file to transfer ownership to you.
- Add the owner to the membership of the shared drive, then ask the owner to move the file (please explain that ownership will be transfered).
- Create a copy of the file that has been shared with you and move that to the shared drive (this will result in duplicate files that will no longer remain in sync).
How do I move folders to a Google shared drive?
At this time, users are not able to move Google Drive folders from My Drive into a shared drive. Files must be moved individually into a shared drive and organized there. Once created, folders can be moved between shared drives.
Note: CETS does not have a tool that will safely move folders to a shared drive.
How do I share files with users who are not members of the shared drive?
You can share individual files in a shared drive without granting membership to the user by using one of the following options:
- Share the file with another Google account or group, granting Edit, Comment or View privileges.
- Share a link to the file so anyone with a Google@SEAS account can view it.
- Share a link to the file so anyone can view it.
For more details, please see Google's Share and collaborate article in the G Suite Learning Center.
How do I share folders with users who are not members of the shared drive?
Unlike Google My Drive, folders in shared drives can't be shared with nonmembers. If you need to share many files, consider creating another shared drive with the appropriate team membership.
For more information, please see the following articles in the G Suite Learning Center:
How do I access Google shared drives from my computer?
The easiest way to access your Google shared drives is by visiting Google Drive in a web browser. If you want to access the files the same way you access other files on your computer's hard drive, Google's Drive File Stream application supports shared drives. Contact CETS if you need assistance upgrading to Google Drive File Stream.
Note: Google's Backup and Sync client does not support shared drives. Please use Drive File Stream if you need this functionality.
- How to set or change your Google@SEAS password
- Google@SEAS Frequently Asked Questions
- Get started with shared drives (G Suite Learning Center)
- Best practices for shared drives (G Suite Learning Center)
- Manage shared drives (G Suite Administrator Help)
- Team Drives is being renamed to shared drives (G Suite Updates)